The Stone Heart

The Stone Heart Kaidu and Rat have only just recovered from the assassination attempt on the General of All Blades when chaos breaks loose in the Nameless City deep conflicts within the Dao nation are making it impos

  • Title: The Stone Heart
  • Author: Faith Erin Hicks Jordie Bellaire
  • ISBN: 9781626721593
  • Page: 369
  • Format: Hardcover
  • Kaidu and Rat have only just recovered from the assassination attempt on the General of All Blades when chaos breaks loose in the Nameless City deep conflicts within the Dao nation are making it impossible to find a political solution for the disputed territory of the City itself.To complicate things further, Kaidu is fairly certain he s stumbled on a formula for theKaidu and Rat have only just recovered from the assassination attempt on the General of All Blades when chaos breaks loose in the Nameless City deep conflicts within the Dao nation are making it impossible to find a political solution for the disputed territory of the City itself.To complicate things further, Kaidu is fairly certain he s stumbled on a formula for the lost weapon of the mysterious founders of the City But sharing it with the Dao military would be a complete betrayal of his friendship with Rat Can Kai find the right solution before the Dao find themselves at war

    • The Stone Heart Best Read || [Faith Erin Hicks Jordie Bellaire]
      369 Faith Erin Hicks Jordie Bellaire


    About “Faith Erin Hicks Jordie Bellaire

    • Faith Erin Hicks Jordie Bellaire

      Born in the wilds of British Columbia, the young Faith frolicked among the Sasquatch native to the province before moving to Ontario at age five There she was homeschooled with her three brothers, and developed an unnatural passion for galloping around on horseback, though never without a proper helmet because you only get one skull After twenty years of suffering through Ontario s obscenely hot summers, she migrated east, and now lives beside the other ocean in Halifax, Nova Scotia She worked in animation for a bit, and now draws comics full time She s not sure how that happened either.



    542 thoughts on “The Stone Heart

    • This sequel to The Nameless City is as addictive as its predecessor I m not one for exaggeratedly long series, but I wouldn t mind reading ten books in this series I m even sad this adventure will end after the next book The story continues with Kaidu s father putting his efforts into his project to assure peace in the Nameless City But the general s son is against it and will do everything possible to make sure the project never flourishes Kaidu and Rat play a slightly less important role in th [...]


    • The Nameless City graphic novels are excellent for kids aged 10 to 14 The Stone Heart like The Nameless City is well drawn with diverse characters and a plot that can be followed by young readers It presents the difficulties of balancing cultural expectations, politics, and belonging with the natural emotions of friendship and understanding.The kids, Kai and Rat, are from completely different social castes, but it doesn t matter to them If only the rest of the world didn t live with prejudiced b [...]


    • I m loving this series especially designed for middle grade readers, The Nameless City, set in 13th century China, Hicks s most challenging project thus far I am especially a big fan of her Friends with Boys, which is this sweet, intimate family based story, and The Adventures of Supergirl, which is hilarious So this is completely different And I normally prefer little intimate indie projects, but since I am already familiar with Hicks s style and sensibilities, I knew I would like this So this [...]


    • This thrilling continuation of the series is jam packed with adventure Kaidu and Rat now have to deal with conflicts within the Dao nation and a possible war To make matters worse, Kaidu finds a formula for a mysterious weapon that may lead to complete chaos.


    • The story gets dark in this book Kai and Rat are still hanging out together, racing and eating, while Kai s father and the General of Blades continue efforts to put together a council for the Nameless City with representation from the different peoples of the City The General s son resents the change to all his expectations and plans, and takes matters into his own hands Meanwhile, it looks like Mura is than just a wicked good fighter, and it s great how Faith Erin Hicks reveals how Mura s got [...]



    • Great for fans of Avatar The Last Airbender and The Leend of Korra There are similar class issues as in Ba Sing Se as well as ownership issues as in Republic City.


    • I somehow read this without realizing that it was the second volume in a trilogy, so now I am going to have to go back and read the first Even without the background of the first volume, the story was easy enough to follow Faith Erin Hicks rarely disappoints me with her art and stories, and this was no exception Sort of a political thriller, but also a story about friendship and the importance of striving to do the right thing even when it s dangerous or difficult Really excited to read the othe [...]


    • 3.5 out of 5The Stone Heart, the second graphic novel in The Nameless City trilogy, is an engaging continuation of the story with the same lovable characters and an expressive and dynamic artwork While the previous volume, The Nameless City, could have easily passed for a standalone, The Stone Heart feels like a preparation for the next volume as it ends in a huge cliffhanger and its plot is a little bit thinner than the series opener s However, the somewhat slower pace in the second book allow [...]


    • The second book in The Nameless City, this book continues the story of Kaidu and Rat as the political situation grows even tenser in the city The Dao nation is exploring new paths to solidify peace, but factions within are seeing their personal plans for power evaporating Soon violence becomes the solution within the Dao factions and someone new is in power Meanwhile, Kaidu and Rat are discovering that the monks that raised Rat may have the key to the power that the original founders of the City [...]


    • Continuing with this trilogy, the story picks up with Kai and Rat three months after the attempted assassination of the Dao General of All Blades This particular General s son, Erzi, does not like that his city, which was destined to be ruled by himself, is going to be under a multi cultural council, including the Named city dwellers, Dao, and other groups though the Yisun still won t meet Kai s father for talks because there s a lot of animosity between the Yisun and the Dao Erzi takes matters [...]



    • When the only complaint one can think of is being annoyed that it s going to be too long until the next installment, one knows one has read a good book.This sequel is just as interesting and compelling as the first I only regret that it is only a trilogy there is so much that could be written here



    • I adore Faith Erin Hicks work, and the Nameless City volumes are her strongest releases so far Having followed her progress for quite a long time, it s wonderful to see just how strong her artistry has gotten The Stone Heart is a gorgeous book with intricately illustrated backgrounds and characters with delightful sense of movement Story wise, it continues directly from the first volume Rat and Kaidu are no longer secret friends, and the General of All Blades and Kaidu s father are hard at work [...]


    • The Stone Heart is the second in The Nameless City series by Faith Erin Hicks I like this story a lot Set in the 13th Century the city has been conquered over and over again, so many times, in fact, that it doesn t have a true name Kaidu is new to the city, staying with his father at the Dao palace, and is quickly learning that not everything is as it seems The Dao believe everything in the city is peaceful and fine but they have little regard for the people they ve conquered Soon Kaidu explores [...]


    • Having really liked the first book in The Nameless City trilogy, I was eager to read this second book And I was not disappointed Kai and Rat are coming to terms with their changed circumstances and the changes that seem to be in store for the city But unfortunately, the politics involved in the running of an empire can change quickly, and when things take a turn for the worse, Kai, his father, and Rat are forced to flee As the fate of the city rests on a knife s edge, Kai and Rat wonder if the f [...]


    • Guys, I m so obsessed with this middle grade series It focuses on the friendship between Rat, a native of the Nameless city, and Kaidu, a member of the Dao, the people who conquered the city They respect each other and openly discuss the ingrained prejudices of their societies, while helping to fight against an oppressive government regime It s smart, complex, and never underestimates its target audience I m already itching for the next one Kelly bookish articles book


    • Hopes for peace go a glimmering as regime change comes to the Nameless City s latest conquerors the Dao just as a new invading army approaches, and a book about a powerful ancient weapon comes to light Once again Rat and Kaidu are at the center of events, and also the only ones who can stave off widespread disaster maybe Hicks ends this episode in mid gallop, so I hope the closer isn t all that far offotherwise she does her usual spectacular job of capturing nuances of character in the art and k [...]


    • This was an amazing continuation of The Nameless City series Things get pretty tense in this book I love the detail that went into building this world and the beautifully colored and detailed illustrations The characters are amazing as well.The Nameless City ends up on the brink of war againspite the best efforts of those who live there and want to engender peace once and for all.Kadu unravels history behind his father s past and Rat reveals some secrets behind the monastery she grew up in Both [...]


    • I m really liking this series a lot I love Kai and Rat s friendship, and how they re gradually learning about each other I like that nobody s wholeheartedly, straight up a villain just for the sake of being a villain there are reasons And mane story in this volume definitely went in some directions I did not expect it to go I m excited about the finale write and draw like the wind, Faith Erin Hicks Like the wind


    • This got a bit darker than I was expecting But it s so good The characters are all interesting and have so much depth even though it s a JGN There are so many good themes you could talk about if you read this with your kid or a class, etc Can t wait for 3






    • As the story continyes I like it and The story and illustrations are engrossing, and I m looking forward to reading the next one



    • Changes are coming to the City, but not everyone is eager to see it Alliances will shift, and blood will be shed.



    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *